Read and explain the following.

Topic Progress:

Islam is based on five things. They are known as the Five Pillars of Islam. The Five Pillars are :

1) Shahada – Testifying to the fact that you believe that Allah is the only one worthy of being worshiped and that Nabi Muhammad [s] is his messenger.

2) Salah – Performing the five daily prayers.

3) Zakah – Giving charity to the poor.

4) Sawm – Fasting in the month of Ramadan.

5) Hajj – Performing the pilgrimage to Makkah.

Like pillars in a building, these pillars keep Islam standing up strong.

Allah said in the Quran:
So believe in Allah and His Messenger and the Qur’an which We have sent down. And Allah is Acquainted with what you do. (sūrat at-taghābun).2

And when you have completed the prayer, remember Allah standing, sitting, or [lying] on your sides. But when you become secure, re-establish [regular] prayer. Indeed, prayer has been decreed upon the believers a decree of specified times. (sūrat an-nisāa) 103

And they were not commanded except to worship Allah, [being] sincere to Him in religion, inclining to truth, and to establish prayer and to give zakah. And that is the correct religion. (sūrat l-bayinah).5

O you who have believed, decreed upon you is fasting as it was decreed upon those before you that you may become righteous. Al baqarah 183

In it there are clear signs and the station of Abraham;80 whoever enters it becomes secure.81 Pilgrimage to the House is a duty owed to Allah by all who can make their way to it. As for those who refuse to follow His command, surely Allah does not stand in need of anything. Surah Ali ‘Imran 97

The Prophet (pbuh) said:
hadith Islam is based on five things. Bearing witness that there is no god but Allah and that Muhammad is the messenger of Allah Establishing Salah, Paying Zakah, performing pilgrimage to the (sacred) house, and fasting in Ramadan.